Schools Closed on Tuesday & Wednesday, January 28th & 29th, 2014

January 27, 2014

Schools will not be open Tuesday or Wednesday due to severe weather

January 27, 2014, New Orleans, LA – The Recovery School District (RSD) and Orleans Parish School Board (OPSB) announce that all of the districts’ directly operated schools in New Orleans and all of the OPSB and RSD charter schools and all BESE type 2 schools in the city will be closed on Tuesday, January 28th and Wednesday, January 29th due to anticipated severe weather. A list of schools that will be closed is provided below. Both districts will monitor the situation and alert parents and the media when the schools will re-open.

List of School Closures in New Orleans:

OPSB Directly Operated and Charter Schools:
• Audubon Charter School (both campuses)
• Benjamin Franklin High School
• Bricolage Academy
• Einstein Charter School (both campuses)
• Encore Academy Charter School
• Alice M. Harte Elementary Charter School
• Edward Hynes Charter School
• Edna Karr Charter High School
• Lake Forest Elementary Charter School
• Lusher Charter School (both campuses)
• New Orleans Charter Science and Mathematics High School
• Homer A. Plessy Community Charter School
• Robert Russa Moton Charter School
• Warren Easton Senior High School
• Benjamin Franklin Elementary School
• Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary School
• Mahalia Jackson Elementary School
• McDonogh #35 College Prep
• McDonogh #35 Career Academy
• McMain Secondary School
State Schools Serving Orleans Parish Students:
• Milestone-SABIS Charter
• International High School
• International School of Louisiana
• Lycee Francais de Nouvelle Orleans
• New Orleans Military and Maritime Academy
• New Orleans Center for the Creative Arts (NOCCA)
RSD Directly Operated and Charter Schools:
• Banneker Elementary
• A.P. Tureaud Elementary
• Cohen High School
• Sarah T. Reed High School
• Carver Senior High School
Single School Operators:
• Crescent Leadership Academy
• Fannie C. Williams Charter School* Will be closed Tuesday and Wednesday
• Edgar P. Harney Charter School
• James Singleton Charter
• John McDonogh High School
• Lagniappe Academies
• Mary D. Coghill Charter School
• McDonogh City Park Academy
• Miller-McCoy Academy
• Morris Jeff Community School
• Net Charter High School
• Success Preparatory Academy
• Sophie B. Wright Charter School
• Andrew H. Wilson Charter
Algiers Charter School Association:
• Algiers Technology Academy
• Martin Behrman Charter Academy for Creative Arts and Sciences
• Dwight D. Eisenhower Academy of Global Studies
• William J. Fischer Accelerated Academy
• Dr. Lord Beaconsfield Landry – Oliver Perry Walker College and Career Preparatory High School
• McDonogh # 32 Literacy Charter School
Arise Schools:
• Mildred Osborne Charter School
• ARISE Academy
Choice Foundation Schools:
• McDonogh #42 Charter School
• Esperanza Charter School
• Lafayette Academy Charter School
Collegiate Academies:
• George Washington Carver Collegiate Academy
• George Washington Carver Preparatory Academy
• Sci Academy
Crescent City Schools:
• Akili Academy of New Orleans
• Harriet Tubman Charter School
• Paul Habans Charter School
FirstLine Schools:
• Samuel J. Green Charter School
• Arthur Ashe Charter School
• John Dibert Community School
• Langston Hughes Academy
• Joseph S. Clark Preparatory High School
Friends of King Schools*:
• Dr. King Charter School
• Joseph Craig Charter Elementary
*both schools will have a 3: 00 p.m. dismissal today and will be closed on Tuesday and Wednesday.
Knowledge Is Power Program:
• KIPP Leadership Primary
• KIPP Believe Primary and College Prep
• KIPP McDonogh 15 Primary and Middle
• KIPP Central City Primary
• KIPP N.O. Leadership Academy
• KIPP Central City Academy
• KIPP Renaissance High School
New Beginnings Schools Foundation:
• Gentilly Terrace Charter School
• Lake Area New Tech Early College High School
• Medard H. Nelson Charter School
• Pierre A. Capdau Charter School
New Orleans College Prep:
• Cohen College Prep Middle and High
• Lawrence D. Crocker College Prep
• Sylvanie Williams College Prep Elementary
ReNEW Schools:
• ReNEW Cultural Arts Academy
• ReNEW SciTech Academy
• ReNEW Dolores T Aaron Elementary
• ReNEW Schaumburg Elementary
• ReNEW Accelerated High School

OPSB central offices will be closed on Tuesday the 28th and Wednesday, January 29th. The RSD central office will be closed and employees will be notified of alternate work arrangements. Both districts are informing parents through calls home, press outlets, and the district website. And steps are being taken to ensure that all school facilities are readied for the severe weather.


RSD Contact:
Cay Kimbrell, Chief of Staff for External Affairs
504.373-6200 ext. 22140 (o)
504.810-8460 (c)
[email protected]

OPSB Contact:
Kathleen Padian, Deputy Superintendent
504.359-8195 (o)
504.919-7633 (c)
[email protected]


Translate »