Student Of The Year Winners And Runner-Ups Recognized By OPSB

February 17, 2017


students of the year feat

The Orleans Parish School Board (OPSB) recognized the 2017 Louisiana Student of the Year District Winners and Runners-Ups at the February 16, 2017 board meeting.  The students are honored based on their leadership, academic performance, achievements, citizenship, and service to the school and community.  One fifth, eighth, and twelfth grade student has been selected from Orleans Parish to complete at the regional level.

District Winners:

Grade 12: Samyra Cambrielle Miller – Lusher Charter School 

Grade 8:  Niani Gibson – Benjamin Franklin Elementary School

Grade 5:  Keiffer Bartlett Ary – Lusher Charter School


District Runner-Ups:

Grade 12:

Longsha Liu – Benjamin Franklin High School

Erielle Perry – Eleanor McMain Secondary School

Grade 8:

Jayla Kevionne Reese – Eleanor McMain Secondary School

Amyri  Tyese Thomas – Eleanor McMain Secondary School

Grade 5:

Ivan Barrosse – Benjamin Franklin Elementary School

Ferdell Ahmad Handy – Mahalia Jackson Elementary School

Kennedi Marshall – Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary School



Translate »